Have donkey, will travel

Years ago, a friend referred to a particularly rough period in his life as a “donkey ride through hell”. I have never forgotten the expression. Lately, it seems like the donkey and I have been on a sight-seeing tour of hell’s outer fringes. It ain’t pretty.

In October, after Bill’s girlfriend downgraded their relationship to “friends with benefits”, he let me know that he wants to go forward with the divorce. Understandable, since at the end of this month, it will be four years since he told me our marriage was over.

On November 1, I was called into a meeting at work, and informed that due to budget shortfall the college is no longer able to employ me full-time. Starting on January 1, I will be down to 16 hours per week – about $1,500 a month, pre-tax. No benefits, of course.

I hate how my life turned out, and it’s all my own fault.

6 thoughts on “Have donkey, will travel

Leave a Reply

