A Statement of Understanding

Bill is going on a date tonight.

At first, I could not understand why this hurt me so much. After all, I have known that our marriage was over for more than three years now. I have told Bill, many times, that I am OK with him dating while we are getting ready to file for divorce, and I meant it. I have gone through the stages of grief, I have made my peace with the situation, so why this emotional response?

I’ve been thinking about it a lot this week, and finally realized that deep down inside I never believed I am worthy of being loved, because even I don’t like myself, so how can anybody else? And yet a part of me had always hoped that I was wrong. I wasn’t, and that’s why it hurts so much.

4 thoughts on “A Statement of Understanding

  1. I like you and I love you! It sucks, I know, so much. But you are absolutely worthy of being loved. This is just a sucky time of your life, it won’t always be this way. *hugs* *hugs* *hugs*

    Like

  2. You are completely worthy of being loved and many do, including me! Hang in there. Stop trying to make everyone else happy and make you happy! You are a wonderful person and you are exactly the person you’re supposed to be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

