The Things I Miss, Two Years Later

Two years ago, I wrote a list of the things I miss. Back then, I was on the beginning rungs of the Stages of Grief ladder, alternating between denial and anger. Now, I am somewhere in the middle, acceptance mixed with depression. Perhaps two years from now I will be at the end – older, wiser, better, happier. But today

– I still miss being held.
– I still miss knowing that I am loved.
– I still miss snuggling.
– I still miss the security of having a partner.

I feel so alone. I feel like I don’t matter at all. And then I feel like a really selfish bitch because so many people I know are going through shit that’s so much worse…

2 thoughts on “The Things I Miss, Two Years Later

  1. Hugs! Your friends love you! Your children love you! (Even thought they are crap at showing it.) Your parents love you! (Even thought they are crap at showing it too.) You are definitely not alone. Anytime you need to be somewhere other than your own house, you know you’re always welcome at ours.

    Like

  2. Aw, sweetie, I’m so sorry. It sucks, I know. But I love you and though it’s not the same as a partner, know that I think of you. I’m glad we’re friends. Some may have it worse and some have it better, but we all go through ups and downs in our life–it’s okay to be sad about how things turned out. Breaking up is a hard thing. It does get better, but it takes time. I took one of those DivorceCare classes at a local church, and one of the sessions said that you should give yourself five years to get back to normal. I highly recommend it, if you feel you’re up for it. They have groups all over, and it did help to talk with others going through the same thing. In any case–*HUGS* *HUGS* *HUGS* *HUGS* *HUGS*

    Like

Leave a Reply

