My Favorite Books of 2010

Inspired by Rebecca’s of Dirty Sexy Books list, here’s mine, nowhere near as organized:

  • “Unholy Ghosts,” “Unholy Magic,” and”City of Ghosts” by Stacia Kane;
  • “The Demon’s Lexicon” and “The Demon’s Covenant” by Sarah Rees Brennan;
  • “Soulless,” “Changeless,” and “Blameless” by Gail Carriger;
  • “Feed” by Mira Grant;
  • The Dresden Files books by Jim Butcher;
  • “The Hunger Games,”Catching Fire,” and “Mockingjay” by Suzanne Collins;
  • “Nevermore” by Kelly Creagh;
  • “Pegasus” by Robin McKinley;
  • “The Duke of Shadows,” “Bound by Your Touch,” “Written on Your Skin,” and “Wicked Becomes You” by Meredith Duran
  • “Private Arrangements,” “Delicious,” Not Quite a Husband, “His at Night” by Sherry Thomas
  • “The Spymaster’s Lady,” “My Lord and Spymaster”, “The Forbidden Rose” Joanna Bourne
  • “Raised by Wolves” by Jennifer Lynn Barnes;
  • “Silent in the Grave,” “Silent in the Sanctuary,” “Silent on the Moor,” and “Dark Road to Darjeelin” by Deanna Raybourn;
  • “Under Heaven” by Guy Gavriel Kay;
  • “Angels Blood” and “Archangel’s Kiss” by Nalini Singh
  • “The Curse of Challion” and “Paladin of Souls” by Lois McMaster Bujold
  • “The Spiral Hunt” and “The Wild Hunt” by Margaret Ronald
  • “Fated” by S.G. Browne
  • “The Poisoner’s Handbook” by Deborah Blum
  • “The Big Short: Inside the Doomsday Machine” by Michael Lewis
  • “White Cat” by Holly Black”
  • “Undead and Unwed” by MaryJanice Davidson

4 thoughts on “My Favorite Books of 2010

  1. Hi Weasel – We have very similar taste, you and I. Many of your books are some of my past favorites, and you also list several that have grabbed my interest, but I haven’t read them yet. For instance, I keep meaning to read Deanna Raybourn’s Lady Julia Grey (am I remembering that correctly?). I think it would be perfect for me. I’m also glad to see someone else appreciated FATED. I thought it was pretty clever and inventive. That twist at the end was amazing.

    Like

  2. Rebecca, thank you for commenting!

    The Lady Julia Grey books are wonderful! How can one NOT love a book that starts “To say that I met Nicholas Brisbane over my husband’s dead body is not entirely accurate. Edward, it should be noted, was still twitching upon the floor.”

    We do seem to have very similar taste in books. I love the Vorkosigan series by Bujold (though was somewhat disappointed by “Cryoburn”), and “Shards of Honor” is my favorite.

    I did have some disagreements with your list – Balogh’s “A Matter of Class” did not impress me as much as it did you, though usually I really enjoy her writing. It could be that I just read it at a bad time in my life. I just finished “The Poison Throne,” and have “The Crowded Shadows” in my TBR pile. So far, so good… On the waiting list for “The Iron Duke,” and can’t wait to get my greedy hands on it 🙂

    Like

    1. Shara, I really enjoyed White Cat. Lots of “did not see this coming!” moments.

      Hope you’ll like “Unholy Ghosts” and its sequels. I was blown away, but some other reviewers had an issue with the heroine’s drug use.

      Like

Leave a Reply

