Thunder and Lightning

Last night, I finally got all my books organized alphabetically by author at around 3 am. Went to bed, and a little bit later we got hit with some very dramatic thunderstorms. Lightning flashing every few seconds, there were ominous thunder rolls that sounded like they were right over our subdivision, and needless to say sleep was not happening. It calmed down by 5 am, I fell asleep, only to be woken up at 8 am by another round of thunderstorms. Eeep. End result: did not get out of bed until 1 pm, and then it took me another couple hours to start functioning at a normal level.

Things accomplished:

  1. Washed windows (both bays, two in the great room, and the garden window) and glass doors (front door, sliding door, back door). That took most of the day. Still need to wash all of those from the inside, but at least on the outside they are cleaner than they were before. Discovered that I cannot figure out how to remove the screens of Stanek windows. Will have to wait for Bill to get back and show me how it is done.
  2. Made more brown rice. Go me! White rice is quick to do, but it takes 45 minutes for the brown one, after it starts boiling.
  3. Moved the kids furniture back into their room.
  4. Two new bins: bedding, blankets, towels, burp clothes that we are not using anymore are now stored under the toddler beds.
  5. Washed and put away the kid clothes that were soaking.
  6. Did a load of my laundry.
  7. Went through Sergey’s side of the closet. Pulled out some stuff that he has outgrown and put aside all the pants with holes in them. When Karen comes, will sit at her feet and ask for mending advice.

Time to go to bed, I have a 7:30 oil change appt for the Jetta!

5 thoughts on “Thunder and Lightning

  1. Sergey just brushed his teeth and combed his hair, just now, like just this second, just thought I would pass it on.

    The Stanek screens have a warning on them about babies pushing them out, on their own, by themselves (hint hint, think like a baby). Or you could just call Stanek. I just push them out, thay have to distort slightly.

    Like

  2. Envy you your thunder and lightning, though not the timing of it. I could count on one hand the number of times I’ve heard thunder in 4 1/2 years here. (Need two hands for the earthquakes, though, thanks to a couple last week.)

    Shall I bring my trusty sewing machine when I move in?

    Progress is being made on the packing front. Decided to ship another box of books, since that’s cheaper than having overweight luggage. Suitcases are mostly done; the fate of any last-minute gifts will be decided on their weight and volume. And I have one more day to do something about all the piles throughout the apartment.

    Like

  3. Goodbyes are not getting any easier. Went to see a friend who speaks no English this morning. So much I wanted to say but didn’t have enough Chinese for! Another friend (the one in Xinjiang that Ben’s visiting) sent a farewell message; it hit me that I won’t see her again, and I’ve been trying not to cry since. And tomorrow morning I plan to say goodbye to my mountains…

    Like

  4. We were a bit lazy yesterday. The only real accomplishment was the dishes that I was too tired to do the night before. Alex’s 2 hour, 2pm birthday party kinda got in the way of doing much else. But he had a great time.

    Like

  5. Bill, I tried pushing on the screens, but I guess I am not aggressive enough. It’s not a big deal.

    Karen, I have never felt an earthquake. I am sure you will catch up on your thunderstorms once you are back in Wisconsin 🙂 You do not have to bring your sewing machine – I actually own one (now if I only used it, too….). Good luck with the packing! It’s very hard to say goodbye to friends. I hope you’ll be able to go back to China one summer, and visit them again.

    Shannon, glad Alex had a good time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

