Honesty, the best policy

Today I had my annual OB-GYN visit. I have a great doctor. He was very supportive when I had complications after DemonChild’s birth, came in on his day off to deliver Squeeker, listens to my concerns, and has a good sense of humor, which is always a bonus when having to deal with me. So he is paging through my chart in preparation for spelunking in my nether regions to a rendevous with my cervix, when

OB: Hmmm… You weight changed in the wrong direction since I saw you last. How did that happen?
Me: Sitting on my ass and eating candy had a lot to do with it.

He laughed. (I gained 10 pounds since Squeekery one was born. As I type this, I am munching on Halloween candy, and eating a bag of bagel crisps. Yup, wonder where the 10 pounds came from 😉

After my child-bearing parts and a spatula had their joyful reunion, we had The Talk about calcium.

OB: Are you getting enough calcium?
Me: Ummmm….
OB: Are you a milk drinker?
Me (deciding that honesty worked pretty well so far): I am Diet Coke drinker.
OB: Nope, does not count.
Me (hopefully): I put creamer in my coffee!
OB: Still does not count. Try three glasses of milk a day.

And then I went home and spent the rest of the day cleaning in preparation for Squeek’s Very Belated First Birthday Party tomorrow. Yay.

One thought on “Honesty, the best policy

  1. Calcium supplements are your friend. Get one with Vitamin D. I actually like the Viactiv Chews (Target Brand) if you want to try some of mine. I hate milk and it’s all I can do to get one glass in a day. Lactose Intolerance complicated matters further.

    Like

Leave a Reply

