Same old, same old

I think the last time I got an uninterrupted nights’ sleep was when Erin and I went to a conference in Salisbury (summer 2005, I think it was). And even then I had to be accompanied by a breast pump.

We are not blessed with children who fall asleep at 8 pm, sleep through the night, and wake up cheerfully at 8 am. Hell no. DemonChild goes down, fighting every step of the way, between 10 and 11 pm (granted, it is still light out by then, and that gotta add to the confusion, but still, one would think he would be too tired to care by that point). He sleeps in my parents’ room, occasionally finishing the night in their bed. He is usually up by 6:30, 7 at the latest.

Squeeker sleeps in my room. After nursing himself into slumber around 9 pm, he then proceeds to wake up for repeat visits to the boob every couple of hours (he probably is teething, and wants the comforts, but still, one would think every three hours would have worked just as well). He is usually up by 6:30 am.

[here the writing of this post was interrupted because you-know-who wanted his midnight boob appointment]

A few days ago, Squeeker got up at 5:45, and DemonChild followed at 6:00. Fortunately, Dad got up then, too, so I rolled back into bed, muttering, “One of these days I am going to exchange you for two kittens, even if I have to pay extra for it.” Yup, I am a shining example of loving motherhood when I am running on 4 hours of sleep. Luckily, I get to go back to bed until noon or so after both of my parents get up 🙂

This, incidentally, is my 100th post. Figures it would be a whiny one, right?

Leave a Reply

