The Road Test

Friday evening, we had Alan’s game at our house. I actually managed to stay awake, but ended up trying to catch up on work instead of socializing. DemonChild did his part in tiring out the baby-sitters, and did not fall asleep until almost midnight.

On Saturday, I went to Target to buy gifts and necessities. Twice, because the first time around I forgot half the gifts. Saturday afernoon Rachel stopped by with baby Caden. He is a cute big guy, weighing 16 lbs at 2 months. It was good to see Rachel again, and as a bonus we managed to get Caden to drink some milk from a bottle. On Saturday evening I drove to Shannon’s neck of the woods for a girls’ night out, dragging Squeekers along. The evening started off somewhat unpromising with the discovery that one of the Jetta’s front headlights has burned out, meaning that I would have to take the road test on the Saturn, which I have not driven in ages, and to which I lovingly refer to as “blind spot on wheels.” The girls night out was a lot of fun, though.

The Road Test of (Thwarted) Doom. It’s a good thing we took the Saturn for the test – the streets around Mill Rd DMV were not plowed very well, and even with the all-wheel drive and going slow, the SUV was sliding all over the place. The examiner was very nice. I tried to keep my nervous chatter to a minimum. I remembered to check The Blind Spots of Doom. I slowed down for railroad tracks and uncontrolled intersections. I pretended to parallel park and backed more-or-less straight back when asked. In the end, I only lost 8 points, compared to 28 and 31 on my previous attempts. Larry’s coaching definitely paid off…. And oh yeah, it is five failures in any given 365 days. Afterwards, BelovedSpouse and I went out for a celebratory lunch.

Next day, my coworkers trusted my mad probationary driving sk1llz to get them to MSOE and back four days in a row. At first I was going to let my boss drive, but he turned out to be one of those “they gave HIM a license, but failed me???” drivers, so we had a better chance of survival with me at the wheel (boss ran through a bunch of red lights, went down the wrong way on one-way streets, and in general drove like God was his copilot. As one coworker later put it, “I rode with him twice, and it was two times too many.” Eeep.).

Leave a Reply

