Of this and that

I have been very tired lately, falling asleep when I meant to stay up and do dishes, or go through mail, or blog. On Friday, I took a personal day (“I think my kids finally broke me,” I wrote to my boss by way of explanation) because we had a game that evening and guests coming on Saturday, and the casa was in dire need of cleaning. Friday was also my last driving lesson; I was so tired I consistently put the car in park instead of in reverse. I feel that I got a lot out of my five lessons; now let’s hope I will be able to schedule my road test sometime soon. Lately, there has been no openings, or openings at the end of March, which is a little two far in the future for my liking.

I got home around 12:30 on Friday, and vacuumed and put away toys and ran the dishwater and did a couple loads of laundry. Got Squeeker from daycare, dumped him and DemonChild on BelovedSpouse, and cleaned the downstairs bathroom. First gamers started to arrive around 7:15; when everybody got there, I handed Squeeker back to BelovedSpouse and cleaned the bathrooms upstairs. Went to feed Squeektar around 10 pm and fell asleep again. Woke up around midnight and then at 2 am – the game was over and everybody was gone by then, so there went my plan to socialize after the game. Oh well, let’s hope I needed the sleep.

Saturday I called my parents and washed the kitchen floor before my friends from Minnesota arrived. Now the house is at least somewhat clean, and tomorrow I will try to call my grandparents, finish up the laundry, and maybe even go through the mail. Such exciting plans I have.

On Monday, classes start again. Will try to make it to work by 8 am, or at least by 8:30. Wish me luck.

DemonChild is back to waking up only once per night, if that. Squeektar, on the other hand, is not sleeping well. Last couple of nights, I must have fed him every two hours or so. As I am typing this, he is crying in our bedroom. It is almost 1 am, and I remember when he used to sleep through most of the night. I guess he decided that sleeping for four or five hours in a row at night is over-rated. We beg to differ, but he is not listening.

But besides being tired and behind on everything, things are going OK here. Ordered a peacock feathers stained glass window-thingie for the great room. Bought some gently used flatware in the Oneida Eden pattern on Ebay – who knows, we might end up with matching silverware after all. Ordered a couple of books on Amazon.com – “Don’t make me think” by Steve Krug for work, and “Reading with Babies, Toddlers, and Twos” for our edification. Being good and not buying anything else.

And talking about being good, I better go to bed before I fall asleep at the keyboard. Night night.

Leave a Reply

