Sad Girl In Snow

We were friends for years in high school. We were friends for years in college. We were friends for years in grad school. We were friends for years. She was in my wedding. I was in her wedding. We saw each other almost every day. He used to call me every week. We emailed each other all the time. We had so much in common. We were like family. We were friends. Friends forever.

And then something happened. Little things – an email not answered, a phone call not returned, a cancelled date never rescheduled. And suddenly months have gone by and we have not talked. And I realize that what we had is, if not gone, then starting to wither. Slow death by neglect. Guilty as charged.

Do we try to re-build? To re-connect, re-link? Will it work? Do you want it to work? Should we even try?

I miss you, Jen. I miss you, Karen. I miss you, Rebekah. I miss you, Todd. I miss you, Scott. I miss you, Karina. I miss you, Rachel. I miss you, Erica. Can we try again?

4 thoughts on “Sad Girl In Snow

  1. Plenty of blame to go around … I don’t have anything like your excuse! At least my students and their workbooks don’t keep me up at night. And you’re still going to be in my wedding, if/when it ever takes place (don’t hold your breath …)

    Like

Leave a Reply

