S., 1 month

Can’t believe S. is already a month old. Wasn’t he just born a few days ago? Time is not just flying by – it’s “gone plaid,” to quote “Space Balls.” And here I am, falling behind on everything again – the story of my life, yet I am surprised every time it happens. Guess I just can’t learn.

===============

My Dad’s nickname for S. is “yozhik,” Russian for “hedgehog.” It is surprisingly fitting – the kid makes little animal noises when he is nursing and falling asleep. He also squeeks a lot, so B. and I have been calling him Squeeker.

===============

S. has settled into a nursing pattern – every two hours during the day, then a long break (sometimes 5 hrs, sometimes 6) at night. Yesterday he had the boob at 10 pm, then again at 3 am, then at 7 am, after which it was back to a meal every two hours. Of course, the feeding patterns may change again, but so far we really cannot complain. He does not sleep a lot during the day when I am home alone with him (maybe 30 minutes at a time, if I am lucky), so nothing is getting accomplished around the house during the day. This past Thursday I ended up asking my mother-in-law to come over and hang out with the baby while I cleaned the bathrooms and vacuumed. Can’t wait till my parents come – I am sure we will get into lots of arguments, but at least I will have a chance to get a lot of the house work done (seeing as we are still trying to unpack, after living in this house for over a year).

===============

At our two-week check-up, S..’s weight was 7 lbs 9 oz, 2 oz less than his birth weight of 7 lbs 11 oz (3 kg 487 g). I freaked out, and spent Tuesday through Friday worrying that he is not getting enough, that I will have to supplement with formula, that I will have to pump every hour, that my poor little baby is failing to thrive, etc. Finally on Friday, October 6, I went to have him weighed again, hoping that he had at least regained his birth weight. Imagine our surprise when the scale read 8 lbs 13 oz (3 kg 997 g). It appears that something was wrong with the scale on Tuesday, because it is physically impossible for an infant to gain over a pound in three days. Next Friday, October 13, he was 9 lbs 8 oz (4 kg 309 g). On October 20, 10 lbs 2 oz (4 kg 592 g). We shall see what this Friday will bring. I told the nurses and receptionists at the pediatrician’s office that I have no social life, and so Fridays are my day to get the baby weighed. I am sure they think I am a bit odd, but it comforts me to know that Squeeker is gaining weight well. The kid has a double chin, and I joke that he cannot hold his head up because his cheeks are weighing him down. On some unfortunate photos, he looks like a baby Jabba the Hutt. Eeep.

===============

He is not cooing yet, but he can smile very contentedly at the boob after a good feeding. He also seem to cry a lot more than D. did, but that is probably just us having selective amnesia *grins*

Leave a Reply

